BORA FLAGSHIPSTORE

The client BORA is an internationally active manufacturer of premium kitchen appliances from Southern Germany. Instead of participating in trade fairs, the brand intends to present itself at its own house exhibitions in the future – specifically where the competition is most fierce – at the so-called “Kitchen Mile” in the heart of the German kitchen furniture industry in North Rhine-Westphalia. As a hundred-meter-long and 13.5-meter-high wing with a rhombus-shaped cross-section made of steel, with a sophisticated outer shell of panels, openings, photovoltaics, and windows, the new building appears to hover on delicate steel pillars above the ground. The impression of dynamism in this architecture is simply breathtaking, especially under the cantilevered, 42-degree inclined south facade, which faces the nearby highway to make a stunning impact.
The building, designed to host exhibitions, training, a restaurant with a show kitchen, events, etc., translates BORA’s philosophy of innovative technology with high design standards and serves as a highly visible advertisement medium. The construction signals the company’s high level of innovation and courage: exceptional products for extraordinary experiences, high-tech, metal, sustainability, and, as desired by the client, a globally distinctive and unique appearance. The open space concept with inclined openings and the metallic material combination conveys a futuristic message as an appropriate setting for a comprehensive product and brand experience.

 

The technically demanding construction is based on a framework of ten-meter-high rhombus-shaped steel frames with rounded corners, which hover about three meters above the ground. The hundred-meter-long building is enveloped by a facade construction made of galvanized and perforated steel parts of different sizes, with some colored glass elements, giving the building its rhythmic appearance and high-tech character. Exciting views both inside and outside are possible – the partial transparency of the facade reflects the scope of connecting the building with its surroundings and enabling a dialogue between observers passing by outside and those inside. Architect Lorenz’s design principle of creating legible architecture, in which the steel structure is visible, precisely aligns with the philosophy of the clients. Inside, these massive steel beams intentionally remain visible and are not covered. A calculated deformation of 130mm at the rhombus edge and horizontal displacement in the facade area posed a novel challenge for the architects and engineers involved in detailing. Another highlight, quite literally, are the two “convertible” sliding roofs: Two 63 square meter sliding roof elements – the largest in Germany – provide a special spatial experience in good weather directly above the lounge and restaurant area, without being affected by noise from thousands of passing vehicles.

 

Sustainability Commitment: The sheltered placement of 80 vehicles under the BORA wing allows for the maximization of unsealed area and subsequently a larger surrounding green space that takes into consideration the neighbors’ wishes. The energy concept is tailored to the specific use of the building. By utilizing renewable energies through geothermal sources (heat exchangers and deep drilling) and maximizing the roof area with photovoltaic modules – except in the area of the convertible roof – the building complies with the KfW 55 standard. Depending on its usage, the BORA Herford building will be a ‘NZEB – Nearly Zero-Energy Building’.
CLIENT WB Immobilien GmbH
LOCATION Herford, Germany
PLANNING + CONSTRUCTION TIME 2021-2023
PROJECT DATA 3.900 qm effective area, exhibition and show-cooking spaces, restaurant
PHOTOS MT-Fotos, Michael Trappmann
AWARDS 2024 BIG SEE Architecture Award

PROJECT NEWS

03 APRIL 2024

NEW ARTICLE PROMOZIONE ACCIAIO

BORA FLAGSHIPSTORE
21 MARCH 2024

COVER: BAUFORUMSTAHL

BORA FLAGSHIPSTORE
23 FEBRUARY 2024

TURN ON 2024

BORA FLAGSHIPSTORE
19 FEBRUARY 2024

NEW ARTICLE IN MATIÈRES NO. 20

BORA FLAGSHIPSTORE

SIMILAR PROJECTS

BORA FLAGSHIPSTORE

Der Bauherr BORA ist ein international tätiger Hersteller von Premium-Küchengeräten aus Süddeutschland. Statt Messeteilnahmen will sich die Marke in Zukunft auf eigenen Hausmessen präsentieren –  und zwar dort, wo die Konkurrenz am größten ist – an der sogenannten „Küchen-Meile“ im Zentrum der deutschen Küchenmöbelindustrie in Nordrheinwestfalen. Als hundert Meter langer und 13,5 Meter hoher Flügel mit rautenförmigem Querschnitt aus Stahl und einer raffinerten Aussenhülle aus Paneelen, Öffnungen, Photovoltaik und Fensteröffnungen scheint der Neubau auf filigranen Stahlstützen über dem Boden zu schweben. Der Eindruck von Dynamik in dieser Architektur ist schier atemberaubend, insbesondere unter der auskragenden, 42 Grad geneigten Südfassade, die der tiefer liegenden Autobahn sich zuwendet, damit sie die 30.000 Autofahrer pro Tag beeindruckend wirken kann.
Das Gebäude für Ausstellung, Fortbildung, Restaurant mit Showküche, Events, etc. übersetzt die BORA-Philosophie einer innovativen Technologie mit hohem Designanspruch, und fungiert so als weit sichtbarer Werbeträger. Der Bau signalisiert den hohen Innovationsanspruch und Mut des Unternehmens: außergewöhnliche Produkte für außergewöhnliche Erlebnisse, High-Tech, Metall, nachhaltiges und wie vom Bauherren gewünscht ein weltweit unverwechselbares, einzigartiges Erscheinungsbild. Das offene Raumkonzept mit geneigten Öffnungen sowie die metallische Materialkombination vermittelt eine futuristische Botschaft als adäquater Rahmen für ein umfassendes, ergreifendes  Produkt- und Marken-Erlebnis, das sich von den üblichen, anonymen Messehallen fundamental unterscheidet.

 

Die technisch höchst anspruchsvolle Konstruktion basiert auf einem Tragwerk aus zehn Meter hohen Stahlrahmen in Rautenform mit abgerundeten Ecken, das in einer Höhe von rund drei Metern über dem Boden zu schwebt. Den hundert Meter langen Baukörper umhüllt eine Fassadenkonstruktion aus verzinkten und in unterschiedlicher Größe perforierten Stahlteilen mit teilweise färbigen Glaselementen, die dem Gebäude seine rhythmische Erscheinung und Hightech-Anmutung geben. Spannende Aus- und Einblicke sind möglich – die teilweise  Transparenz der Fassade spiegelt den Anspruch, das Gebäude mit dem Umfeld zu vernetzen und einen Dialog zu ermöglichen zwischen den Vorbeifahrenden und Verweilenden. Peter Lorenz‘ Planungsgrundsatz, ablesbare Architektur zu schaffen, in der das Stahltragwerk sichtbar ist, entspricht genau der technikaffinen Philosophie der Auftraggeber. Im Innenraum bleiben diese gewaltigen Stahlträger absichtlich sichtbar und werden nicht verkleidet. Die kalkulierte Verformung von 130mm an der Rautenkante und die horizontale Verschiebung im Bereich der Fassaden stellte für die beteiligten Architekten und Konstrukteure eine neuartige Herausforderung bei der Detaillierung dar. Ein weiteres  Highlight im Wortsinn sind daher die beiden Cabrio-Schiebedächer: Zwei jeweils 63 Quadratmeter große Schiebedachelemente – die größten in Deutschland – sorgen bei schönem Wetter für ein besonderes Raumerlebnis direkt über Lounge und Restaurantbereich – und zwar ohne Schallbeeinträchtigung durch Tausende vorbeifahrende Fahrzeuge.

 

Nachhaltigkeits-Anspruch: Die witterungsgeschützte Platzierung von 80 Fahrzeugen unter dem BORA Flügel ermöglicht eine Maximierung der unversiegelten Fläche und in der Folge eine Grünfläche, die auf die Wünsche der Nachbarn Rücksicht nimmt. Das Energiekonzept ist auf die spezielle Nutzung des Gebäudes zugeschnitten. Durch die Nutzung regenerativer Energien mittels Geothermie (Wärmetauscher und Tiefenbohrungen) sowie maximaler Belegung der Dachfläche mit Photovoltaik-Modulen – außer im Bereich des Cabrio-Daches – erfüllt das Gebäude den KfW 55 Standard. In Abhängigkeit von der Nutzung wird das Gebäude von BORA Herford ein ‚NZEB – Nearly Zero-Energy Building‘ sein.
AUFTRAGGEBER  WB Immobilien GmbH
STANDORT Herford, Deutschland
PLANUNGS + BAUZEIT  2021-2023
PROJEKTDATEN 3.900 m² NF, Ausstellungs- und Messeflächen, Showküchen, Restaurant
FOTOS MT-Fotos, Michael Trappmann

PROJEKT NEWS

19 FEBRUAR 2024

NEUER ARTIKEL IN MATIÈRES NO. 20

BORA FLAGSHIPSTORE
16 SEPTEMBER 2023

ERÖFFNUNG BORA FLAGSHIPSTORE

BORA FLAGSHIPSTORE

ÄHNLICHE PROJEKTE