19 DECEMBER 2023

2024 – LET’S CONSTRUCT A BETTER YEAR

We are experiencing a challenging time at the beginning of many changes and are looking attentively into a future that we can actively help to shape. From this perspective, we have some messages that we want to convey through our architecture. We recently completed two remarkable buildings in Tyrol and North Rhine-Westphalia. After winning the first international competition in young Slovenia 23 years ago, we are now building the “Sports City Ilirija” – in the centre of the up-and-coming city of Ljubljana. In Italy, we focussed on the urban planning vision of the ancient Roman city of Aquileia. Damir Kovačić from Belgrade made a video about the Medcampus in Linz, in which the influence of architecture on teaching and research becomes clear.

SPATIAL SCULPTURE TO THE MOTORWAY

HERFORD, GERMANY, SEE PROJECT
Instead of participating in trade fairs, Bora wants to present itself as a manufacturer of kitchen appliances at its own in-house trade fairs with other manufacturers henceforward. We were asked to develop a globally unique and innovative image carrier. From ten proposals, the client chose the 100-metre-long and 13.5-metre-high wing with a diamond-shaped steel cross-section that leans towards the motorway and engages in dialogue with the 30,000 people passing by every day. Together with the engineers, the architects developed a new design for the movable steel structure and an ingenious outer shell consisting of panels, glazing, window openings, photovoltaics and two huge sliding roofs above the restaurant. The new building appears to float above the ground, and the impression of dynamism both inside and outside creates a sense of wonder and excitement among visitors.
Partner: Werkraum Ingenieure/ structural engineering, Sautter ZT/ building services, eloplan/ electrical planning, Spektrum/ building physics, Beitl ZT/ landscape planning
Photos: Michael Trappmann

AQUILEIA 2069

AQUILEIA, ITALY, SEE PROJECT
The Italian Monuments Office of Friuli Venezia Giulia commissioned us to carry out a study on the subject of “development and structure”. This quickly resulted in an urban development “Vision Aquileia 2069” with a long-term perspective. In 2069, the city will celebrate its 2250th anniversary. We have developed a critical and constructive roadmap with all those involved: future development will take place via three interchange centres, which are connected via an outer ring and thus enable a virtually car-free city centre. Exciting discourse has developed around the topics of “pure preservation” and “Renaissance City of Aquileia” with new functions (schools, hotels, subsidised housing). The comprehensive work is intended to serve the further development of the city centre and will be incorporated into the revision of the zoning and development plan. If you are interested, we are pleased to send you our study.
Partners: Ministero della Cultura, Soprintendenza Archeologica, Belle Arti e Paesaggio del Friuli Venezia Giulia; Regione Autonoma Friuli Venezia Giulia, Direzione centrale Cultura e Sport – Ufficio Unico per Aquileia; Comune di Aquileia, Fondazione Aquileia
Plan and rendering: Lorenzateliers

WORKING IN THE INDUSTRIAL ZONE

NIEDERNDORF, AUSTRIA, SEE PROJECT
High-quality workplaces are becoming an important criterion in the competition for the best employees. Peter Lorenz has been dealing with the “garbage bins” of industrial areas for many years and calls for the avoidance of land wasting, a higher density and urban mixed use. The business park directly on the banks of the Inn offers a spectacular view of the river landscape. Spacious communal areas inside and outside enable creative and communicative collaboration. The planned flexibility allows for future conversion into flats or a hotel. Two bridges optimise the operational processes between the existing buildings and shorten the distances. The lowering of the ground level ensures that the basement is well lit and creates a defined recreational space.
Partner: Werkraum Ingenieure/ structural engineering, Sautter ZT/ building services, eloplan/ electrical planning, Spektrum/ building physics
Photos: (1) Christian Flatscher, (2) Lorenzateliers

SPORTCITY ILIRIJA UNDER CONSTRUCTION

LJUBLJANA, SLOVENIA, SEE PROJECT
Since winning the two-stage international competition in 2000/2001, this design has been discussed, fought over, postponed, objected to, changed, hated and loved… until the mayor commissioned us at the end of 2018. The breathtaking space under the 12,500m² roof is beginning to be experienced and will be used in future as a competition and training centre for athletes from all over the world. Views through and out into the city centre, Tivoli Park, the busy streets and the public square create a varied spatial experience. Over the years, the urban planning function of the Ilirija complex has established itself as a link between the attractive city centre and Tivoli Park. The wide arc spans the historic entrance building designed by architect Stanko Bloudek in 1928, a museum dedicated to him with a café and the indoor swimming pool with three pools (Olympic-size) as well as infrastructure, physiotherapy, fitness, grandstands for 1,500 spectators and an underground car park. The third building contains three gyms and generates the revitalised street space of the historic “Latterman Avenue”. The opening is planned for 25 May 2024 – save the date!
Partner: Elea, Ljubljana/General Planning
General contractor: Makro 5
Client: MOL Municipality of Ljulbjana
Photos: Kleva films

SHORT FILM MEDCAMPUS LINZ

LINZ, AUSTRIA, SEE PROJECT
The renowned filmmaker Damir Kovačić has produced a short film about our Medical University campus in Linz, which will be completed in 2021, as part of his project “Austrian Architecture Today”. Have fun!
We welcome all feedback, criticism and spontaneous comments!
THE LORENZATELIERS TEAM WISHES YOU LOTS OF ENERGY AND OPTIMISM FOR 2024
Franz-Xaver Baur, Jean-Pierre Bolivar, Oguzhan Cula, Giulia Decorti, Bárbara González, Siegfried Gurschler, Thomas Kasseroler, Clemens Kössler, Peter Lorenz, José Martín, Kathrin Mayerhofer, Can Onbasioglu, Margot Orthacker, Martin Painer, Magdalena Polvorinos, Arno Reiter, Claudia Schmied, Duna Viezzoli, Alexander Waldbauer
Wien | Innsbruck | Triest

19 DEZEMBER 2023

2024 – LET’S CONSTRUCT A BETTER YEAR

Wir erleben eine herausfordernde Zeit am Beginn vieler Veränderungen und blicken aufmerksam in eine Zukunft, die wir aktiv mitgestalten können. Aus dieser Perspektive zeigen wir einige Botschaften, die wir über unsere Architektur vermitteln wollen. In Tirol und Nordrhein-Westfalen konnten wir vor kurzem zwei bemerkenswerte Gebäude fertigstellen. Nachdem wir vor 23 Jahren den ersten internationalen Wettbewerb im jungen Slowenien gewonnen haben, ist nun die „Sportstadt Ilirija“ im Bau – inmitten der aufstrebenden Stadt Ljubljana. In Italien haben wir uns mit der städtebaulichen Vision der antiken, römischen Stadt Aquileia beschäftigt. Damir Kovačić aus Belgrad hat über den Medcampus in Linz ein Video angefertigt, in dem der Einfluss der Architektur auf Lehre und Forschung verständlich wird.

RAUMSKULPTUR ZUR AUTOBAHN

HERFORD, DEUTSCHLAND, ZUM PROJEKT
Statt Messeteilnahmen will sich Bora als Hersteller von Küchengeräten in Zukunft auf eigenen Hausmessen mit anderen Herstellern präsentieren. Der Auftrag an uns war einen weltweit einzigartigen und innovativen Imageträger zu entwickeln. Aus zehn Vorschlägen wählte der Bauherr den 100 Meter langen und 13,5 Meter hohen Flügel mit einem rautenförmigen Querschnitt aus Stahl, der sich zur Autobahn neigt und den Dialog mit den 30.000 Vorbeifahrenden pro Tag aufnimmt. Die Architekt:innen erarbeiteten gemeinsam mit den Ingenieur:innen eine Neuentwicklung für die bewegliche Stahlkonstruktion und eine raffinierte Außenhülle aus Paneelen, Verglasungen, Fensteröffnungen, Photovoltaik und zwei riesigen Schiebedächern über dem Restaurant. Der Neubau scheint über dem Boden zu schweben, der außen- und innenräumliche Eindruck von Dynamik erzeugt Staunen und Begeisterung bei den Besucher:innen.
Partner: Werkraum Ingenieure/ Statik, Sautter ZT/ Haustechnik, eloplan/ Elektroplanung, Spektrum/ Bauphysik, Beitl ZT/ Landschaftsplanung
Fotos: Michael Trappmann

AQUILEIA 2069

AQUILEIA, ITALIEN, ZUM PROJEKT
Das italienische Denkmalamt von Friuli Venezia Giulia hat uns für eine Studie zum Thema „Erschließung und Struktur“ beauftragt. Rasch ist daraus eine städtebauliche „Vision Aquileia 2069“ mit langfristiger Perspektive entstanden. Im Jahr 2069 wird das 2250. Jubiläum der Stadt gefeiert. Wir haben mit allen Beteiligten einen kritisch-konstruktiven Fahrplan entwickelt:  die zukünftige Erschließung erfolgt über drei Interchangezentren, die über einen Außenring verbunden sind und damit eine nahezu autofreie Innenstadt ermöglichen. Die spannenden Diskurse haben sich um die Themen „reine Erhaltung“ und „Renaissance Stadt Aquileia“ mit neuen Funktionen (Schulen, Hotels, geförderter Wohnbau) entwickelt. Die umfassende Arbeit soll der weiteren Stadtentwicklung dienen und in die Überarbeitung des Flächenwidmungs- und Bebauungsplanes einfliessen. Im Falle detailierten Interesses senden wir Ihnen die Studie zu.
Partner: Ministero della Cultura, Soprintendenza Archeologica, Belle Arti e Paesaggio del Friuli Venezia Giulia; Regione Autonoma Friuli Venezia Giulia, Direzione centrale Cultura e Sport – Ufficio Unico per Aquileia; Comune di Aquileia, Fondazione Aquileia
Plan und Rendering: Lorenzateliers

ATTRAKTIVES ARBEITEN IM GEWERBEGEBIET

NIEDERNDORF, ÖSTERREICH, ZUM PROJEKT
Qualitativ hochwertige Arbeitsplätze werden zu einem wichtigen Kriterium im Wettbewerb um die besten Mitarbeiter:innen. Peter Lorenz beschäftigt sich schon seit vielen Jahren mit den „Mistkübeln“ Gewerbegebiete und fordert die Vermeidung von Flächenverschwendung, eine höhere Dichte und eine urbane Mischnutzung. Das Gewerbegebiet direkt am Innufer bietet einen spektakulären Ausblick in die Flusslandschaft. Großzügige Gemeinschaftsflächen innen und außen ermöglichen ein kreatives und kommunikatives Zusammenarbeiten. Die geplante Flexibilität erlaubt einen zukünftigen Umbau in Wohnungen oder in ein Hotel. Zwei Brücken optimieren die betrieblichen Abläufe zwischen den Bestandsgebäuden und verkürzen die Wege. Die Absenkung des Geländeniveaus bewirkt eine gute Belichtung des Untergeschoßes und schafft einen definierten Erholungsraum.
Partner: Werkraum Ingenieure/ Statik, Sautter ZT/ Haustechnik, eloplan/ Elektroplanung, Spektrum/ Bauphysik
Fotos: (1) Christian Flatscher, (2) Lorenzateliers

SPORTCITY ILIRIJA IM BAU

LJUBLJANA, SLOWENIEN, ZUM PROJEKT
Seit dem Gewinn des zweistufigen, internationalen Wettbewerbes 2000/2001 wurde dieser Entwurf diskutiert, bekämpft, zurückgestellt, beeinsprucht, geändert, gehasst und geliebt… bis uns der Bürgermeister Ende 2018 beauftragt hat. Der atemberaubende Raum unter dem 12.500m² großen Dach beginnt erlebbar zu werden und wird in Zukunft als Wettkampf- und Trainingsstätte für Sportler:innen aus aller Welt genutzt. Durch- und Ausblicke in die Innenstadt, den Tivolipark, die frequentierten Straßen und den öffentlichen Platz vermitteln ein abwechslungsreiches Raumerlebnis. Über die vielen Jahre hat sich die städtebauliche Funktion des Ilirija-Komplexes als Gelenk zwischen der attraktiven Innenstadt und dem Tivolipark durchgesetzt. Der weite Bogen überspannt das historische Eingangsgebäude des Architekten Stanko Bloudek aus 1928, ein ihm gewidmetes Museum mit Café und die Schwimmhalle mit drei Schwimmbecken (Olympiaeignung) sowie Infrastruktur, Physiotherapie, Fitness, Tribünen für 1.500 Zuschauer:innen und eine Tiefgarage. Das dritte Gebäude beinhaltet drei Turnhallen und generiert den wiedererweckten Straßenraum der historischen „Latterman Avenue“. Die Eröffnung ist für den 25. Mai 2024 geplant – Save the date!
Partner: Elea, Ljubljana/Generalplanung
Generalunternehmer: Makro 5
Auftraggeber: MOL Stadtverwaltung Ljulbjana
Fotos: Kleva films

KURZFILM MEDCAMPUS LINZ

LINZ, ÖSTERREICH, ZUM PROJEKT
Wir freuen uns über jede Rückmeldung, Kritik und spontane Kommentare!

VIEL ENERGIE UND OPTIMISMUS WÜNSCHT DAS TEAM LORENZATELIERS FÜR 2024

 

Franz-Xaver Baur, Jean-Pierre Bolivar, Oguzhan Cula, Giulia Decorti, Bárbara González, Siegfried Gurschler, Thomas Kasseroler, Clemens Kössler, Peter Lorenz, José Martín, Kathrin Mayerhofer, Can Onbasioglu, Margot Orthacker, Martin Painer, Magdalena Polvorinos, Arno Reiter, Claudia Schmied, Duna Viezzoli, Alexander Waldbauer

 

Wien | Innsbruck | Triest