SMART & GREEN

Wiengas commissioned LORENZATELIERS 2010 with a master plan for meaningful reuse for the 140,000 m² site of the former Leopoldau gasworks. The area is characterized by heritage-protected brick buildings and the striking 50-meter-high ball gas tanks from the 80s.
The master plan deals with future-oriented urban planning criteria. An autonomous district is to develop, which is based on the urbanity of the city center and not on the usual suburban Tristesse.
Identity-creating features such as the historic buildings and the two spheres are preserved and reused. The needs of pedestrians and cyclists are taken into account. Large collective garages minimize car traffic and increase the quality of living. The remaining street space is “fairly shared” between all road users. The “Shopping and Entertainment Center” keeps the residents in the district and avoids car rides. A “green net” extends the existing tree population and creates spacious, park-like green spaces.
Numerous model studies for the approx. 1,500 apartments serve as the basis for an optimal development plan and the following architectural competitions.
Already sprouting cultural initiatives – essential for the urban quality in the rapidly growing 21st district – are given room for further development.
As an urban development lock, the ‘TECHNOSAURUS’ connects the loosely distributed building ensembles into a new district. As an optimal basis for the settlement of young, innovative companies he strengthens the technology location Floridsdorf.
CLIENT Wienenergie Gasnetz
LOCATION Vienna, Austria
COMPETITION 2010
PROJEKCT DATA area of ~140.000 qm: 1.500 apartments, shopping & entertainment center, offices, retail
MODEL LA
RENDER LA

SIMILAR PROJECTS

SMART & GREEN

Wiengas hat LORENZATELIERS 2010 mit einem Masterplan zur sinnvollen Nachnutzung für das 140.000 m² große Gelände des ehemaligen Gaswerks Leopoldau beauftragt. Das Areal ist geprägt von denkmalgeschützten Ziegelbauten und den prägnanten 50 Meter hohen Kugelgastanks aus den 80er-Jahren.
Der Masterplan beschäftigt sich mit zukunftsorientierten städtebaulichen Kriterien. Ein autonomer Stadtteil soll entstehen, der sich an der Urbanität der Innenstadt orientiert und nicht an der üblichen Vorstadttristesse.
Identitätsstiftende Merkmale wie die historischen Bauten und die beiden Kugeln werden erhalten und neu genutzt. Den Bedürfnissen der Fußgänger und Radfahrer wird Rechnung getragen. Große Sammelgaragen minimieren den Autoverkehr und erhöhen die Wohnqualität. Der verbleibende Straßenraum wird zwischen allen Verkehrsteilnehmern „fair geteilt“.  Das „Shopping und Entertainment Center“ hält die Bewohner im Stadtteil und vermeidet Autofahrten. Ein „Grünes Netz“ erweitert den vorhandenen Baumbestand und schafft großzügige, parkähnliche Grünräume.
Zahlreiche Modellstudien für die ca. 1.500 Wohnungen dienen als Grundlage für einen optimalen Bebauungsplan und die nachfolgenden Architekturwettbewerbe.
Bereits zart sprießende Kulturinitiativen – essentiell für die urbane Qualität im schnell wachsenden 21. Bezirk – bekommen Raum zur Weiterentwicklung.
Als städtebauliche Spange verbindet der ‚TECHNOSAURUS‘ die lose verteilten Gebäude-Ensembles zu einem neuen Stadtteil. Als optimale Basis für die Ansiedlung von jungen, innovativen Betrieben stärkt er den Technologiestandort Floridsdorf.
AUFTRAGGEBER Wienenergie Gasnetz
STANDORT Wien
WETTBEWERB 2010
PROJEKTDATEN Areal ~140.000 m2 – 1.500 Wohnungen, Shopping & Entertainment Center, Büros, Gewerbe / ~140,000 m2
MODELL LA
RENDER LA

ÄHNLICHE PROJEKTE