ON 239

The corner house ON 239 completes the master plan “Breite Furt” at the intersection Breitenfurter Straße / Walter-Jurmann-Gasse. Only through high density, property-related additional costs could be compensated. Four independent buildings break up the classic perimeter block development, resulting in a compact, dense ensemble with a kindergarten, residential lanes, courtyard and common areas with a swimming pool on the roof.
Despite the tight budget, urban planning supports an attractive, architectural façade to initiate high-quality urbanization of the Breitenfurter Straße. The spatial design of the building creates a varied experience of views, forecourts, green areas and connections to the environment.
Diverse apartment typologies such as maisonettes with private garden, differently sized apartments with balconies or loggias as well as penthouses, are thought for social mixing. The different functions of the building can be read through the narrative design of the façade.
CLIENT BUWOG
LOCATION Vienna
CONSTRUCTION TIME 2014-2017
PROJECT DATA  130 apartments, kindergarten, rooftop pool – Masterplan Breite Furt / 130 apartments, kindergarten, rooftop pool – urban planning Breite Furt
MODEL LA

ON 239Das Eckhaus ON 239 schließt den Masterplan „Breite Furt“ zur Kreuzung Breitenfurter Straße / Walter-Jurmann-Gasse hin ab. Nur über eine hohe Dichte konnten grundstücksbedingte Mehrkosten aufgefangen werden. Vier eigenständige Baukörper brechen die klassische Blockrandbebauung auf und ergeben ein kompaktes, dichtes Ensemble mit Kindergarten, Wohngassen, Innenhof sowie Gemeinschaftsflächen mit Schwimmbad am Dach. 
Trotz des knappen Budgets unterstützt die Stadtplanung eine attraktive, architektonische Fassade, um eine qualitätsvolle Urbanisierung der Breitenfurter Straße einzuleiten. Die räumliche Gestaltung des Gebäudes schafft ein abwechslungsreiches Erleben von Durchblicken, Vorplätzen, Grünbereichen und Verbindungen zur Umgebung.
 
Vielfältige, differenzierte Wohnungstypologien wie Maisonetten mit Eigengarten, unterschiedlich dimensionierte Geschosswohnungen mit Balkonen oder Loggien sowie Dachterrassenwohnungen sorgen für soziale Durchmischung. Die unterschiedlichen Funktionen des Gebäudes sind durch die narrative Gestaltung der Fassade ablesbar. 

DATUM2014-2017ORTWien XXIIIAUFTRAGGEBERBuwogPROJEKTDATEN130 Wohnungen, Kindergarten, Pool am Dach – Masterplan "Breite Furt"FOTOSAndreas Buchberger