MARKT & SCHULE

The building “Markt & Schule” has been erected as the central project of the masterplan “Breite Furt” of LORENZATELIERS. No ordinary “box” with parking spaces in front of it, but a living urban center for Atzgersdorf, a catalyst for the development of the entire district. The horizontal stacking of functions – parking, shopping, school – determines the shape and structure of the building and ensures a clear separation of the individual areas, readable on the facade design. Urban identity creates the central Piazza, through which one enters the market.
School on the roof
Especially important for the further development of the residential district: a school. Years of searching for a suitable location have ended successfully with LORENZATELIERS ‘proposal to build the school on the roof of the food market.
The full-day elementary school is designed as an atrium school. The central courtyard gives the building a quiet centre, creating typological intelligibility and a clear orientation. In the atrium and on the roof are alternated different play and recreation zones.
CLIENT BUWOG
LOCATION Vienna, Austria
PLANNING TIME 2016-2017
CONSTRUCTION TIME 2018-2020
PROJECT DATA  gross floor area ca. 25,000 m2 – supermarket & school on top
MASTERPLAN Breite Furt
MODELL LA
PHOTOS Franz Ebner / BUWOG, Stephan Huger

MARKT & SCHULE

Als zentrales Projekt des Masterplans „Breite Furt“ von LORENZATELIERS wurde das Gebäude „Markt & Schule“ entworfen. Keine übliche „Schachtel“ mit Parkplätzen davor, sondern ein lebendiges und urbanes Zentrum für Atzgersdorf, ein Katalysator für die Entwicklung des gesamten Viertels. Die horizontale Stapelung der Funktionen – Parken, Einkaufen, Schule – bestimmt Form und Struktur des Gebäudes und sorgt für eine klare Trennung der einzelnen Bereiche, welche an der Fassadengestaltung ablesbar ist. Urbane Identität schafft die zentral gelegene Piazza, über die man den Markt betritt.
Schule auf dem Dach
Besonders wichtig für die weitere Entwicklung des Wohnviertels ist die Errichtung einer Schule. Die jahrelange Suche nach einem geeigneten Standort endete erfolgreich mit dem Vorschlag von LORENZATELIERS, die Schule auf dem Dach des Lebensmittelmarktes zu bauen.
Die Ganztagsvolksschule ist als Atriumschule konzipiert. Der zentrale Hof gibt dem Gebäude eine ruhige Mitte, schafft typologische Klarheit und eine eindeutige Orientierung. Im Atrium sowie auf den Dachflächen entstehen unterschiedliche Spiel- und Aufenthaltszonen.
AUFTRAGGEBER BUWOG
STANDORT Wien
BAUZEIT 2015-
PROJEKTDATEN Bruttogeschossfläche ca. 25.000 m2 – Lebensmittelmarkt & Volksschule auf dem Dach / gross floor area ca. 25,000 m2 – supermarket & school on top
MODELL LA
FOTOS BUWOG / Stephan Huger, Franz Ebner