INSTITUTE OF DIGITAL SCIENCES

Global developments require a rethinking of architecture. In a world of rapid scientific and technological change, the future-oriented IDS educational institution offers the opportunity to realize buildings with new parameters. The “JKU Digital Science” quarter promotes informal encounters between researchers, teachers and students with nature in coexistence and demonstrates the principles of Gaia at various scales.
NATURE AND LANDSCAPE_The new “hill-city” presents a historical contrast between urban space and nature. The compact arrangement of the buildings around a slightly inclined, urban level with attractive meeting spaces is opposed by generous, untouched natural spaces. Natural landscape promotes the sustainable integration of the project into the surrounding environment.
CONSTRUCTION_The load-bearing structure is built using reinforced concrete, with hollow core and ribbed slabs reducing material consumption. Prefabricated spun concrete columns and steel suspension systems enable rapid construction progress and reduced costs. A combined pile- and slab-foundation reduces the volume of concrete and the ecological footprint.
BUILDING PHYSICS_Lamellas and lesenes act as passive solar shading. High thermal mass in the ceilings and floors and openable windows reduce energy requirements. Mechanical ventilation is only used where necessary. Natural ventilation and the activation of the concrete core support the heating and cooling loads, while a PV system contributes to energy efficiency. Economic and ecological aspects minimize life cycle costs and maximize sustainability.
The jury could not follow the “city-nature” contrast and preferred the new institutes in a park-like landscape.
CLIENT  Bundesimmobiliengesellschaft m.b.H. Unternehmensbereich Universitäten
LOCATION Linz, Austria
COMPETITION  2023 – 2024, 2nd phase
PROJECT DATA 21.950 qm effective area in 3 construction phases, production hall, multifunctional teaching rooms, lecture halls, seminar rooms, administration, park & ride garage, connecting bridge, open space
MODEL BILDERMEHR Paul Frick
VISUALIZATION ESTUDIOELGOZO

INSTITUTE OF DIGITAL SCIENCES

Die weltweiten Entwicklungen erfordern ein Neudenken von Architektur. Die zukunftsorientierte Ausbildungsstätte IDS bietet in einer Welt rasender wissenschaftlicher und technologischer Veränderungen die Chance, Gebäude mit neuen Parametern zu realisieren. Das Quartier „JKU Digital Science“ fördert informelle Begegnungen zwischen Forschenden, Lehrenden und Studierenden mit der Natur in Koexistenz und demonstriert die Prinzipien von Gaia in verschiedenen Maßstäben.
NATUR UND LANDSCHAFT_Die neue Hügelstadt zeigt ein historisches Gegenüber von urbanem Stadtraum und Natur. Der kompakten Anordnung der Baukörper um eine leicht geneigte, urbane Ebene mit attraktiven Begegnungsräumen stehen großzügige, unberührte Naturräume gegenüber. Naturnahe Freiräume fördern die nachhaltige Integration des Projektes in die umgebende Umwelt.
KONSTRUKTION_Das Tragwerk wird in Stahlbetonbauweise errichtet, wobei Hohlkörper und Rippendecken den Materialverbrauch reduzieren. Vorgefertigte Schleuderbetonstützen und Stahlhängewerke ermöglichen einen raschen Baufortschritt und reduzierte Kosten. Eine kombinierte Pfahl-Bodenplatte reduziert das Betonvolumen und den ökologischen Fußabdruck.
BAUPHYSIK_Lamellen und Lisenen wirken als passiver Sonnenschutz. Hohe Speichermassen der Decken und Böden sowie öffenbare Fenster reduzieren den Energiebedarf. Mechanische Belüftung wird nur dort eingesetzt, wo sie notwendig ist. Natürliche Lüftung und Betonkernaktivierung unterstützen die Heiz- und Kühllasten, während eine PV-Anlage zur Energieeffizienz beiträgt. Ökonomische und ökologische Aspekte minimieren die Lebenszykluskosten und maximieren die Nachhaltigkeit.
Die Jury konnte dem Kontrast „Stadt-Natur“ nicht folgen und bevorzugt die neuen Institute in einer parkartigen Naturlandschaft.
AUFTRAGGEBER  Bundesimmobiliengesellschaft m.b.H. Unternehmensbereich Universitäten
STANDORT Linz, Österreich
WETTBEWERB  2023 – 2024, 2. Stufe
PROJEKTDATEN 21.950 m² NF in 3 Bauphasen, Fertigungshalle, Multifunktionale Lehrräume, Hörsäle, Seminarräume, Verwaltung, Park & Ride Garage, Verbindungsbrücke, Freiraum
MODELL BILDERMEHR Paul Frick
RENDERING ESTUDIOELGOZO