BIRKENSTOCK CAMPUS

The Birkenstock campus in Linz am Rhein, Rheinland-Pfalz, is located on a hill above the Rhein, next to the castle Ockenfels, since 1998 presentation and administrative headquarters of Birkenstock. The romantic, original scenic beauty of the Rhine Valley inspired LORENZATELIERS to great architectural thrift in the design of the new building.
The two-storey structure consists of two rows of combined offices and an atrium in between. The 20-meter-wide and 111-meter-long atrium is the centre, the heart of the building. The exciting, varied spatial sequence is clearly structured and facilitates orientation. Paths, bridges, passages, atria and roof gardens create communicative meeting zones and a diverse work environment for employees.
As always with LORENZATELIERS the relation to the exterior space is very important. From the offices you can see the Rhine (south), the garden (north) or the atrium (inside). The roof surfaces are planted with trees as a reminiscence of the surrounding orchards. The atria together with the connecting bridges form a lively inner-city atmosphere with squares, alleys, promenades, meeting places and rest areas.
In keeping with the Birkenstock philosophy, only natural materials are used that are not “distorted” by coatings: glass, exposed concrete, polished steel and wood.
CLIENT Birkenstock GmbH & Co.KG
LOCATION Linz am Rhein, Germany
COMPETITION 2015
PROJECT DATA Two lines combined office and an atrium in between
MODEL LA
RENDER Tomaselli Visual Sensations

BIRKENSTOCK CAMPUS

Der Birkenstock Campus in Linz am Rhein, Rheinland-Pfalz, liegt auf einem Hügel über dem Rhein, unmittelbar neben der Burg Ockenfels, seit 1998 Präsentations- und Verwaltungssitz von Birkenstock. Die wildromantische, ursprüngliche landschaftliche Schönheit des Rheintals bewog LORENZATELIERS zu großer architektonischer Zurückhaltung beim Entwurf des neuen Gebäudes.
 
Der zweigeschossige Baukörper besteht aus zwei Zeilen mit Kombibüros und einem dazwischenliegenden Atrium. Das 20 Meter breite und 111 Meter lange Atrium ist das Zentrum, das Herz der Anlage. Die spannende, abwechslungsreiche Raumabfolge ist übersichtlich strukturiert und erleichtert die Orientierung. Wege, Brücken, Passagen, Atrien und Dachgärten schaffen für die Mitarbeiter kommunikative Begegnungszonen und ein vielfältiges Arbeitsumfeld.
 
Wie immer bei LORENZATELIERS ist der Bezug zum Außenraum sehr wichtig. Von den Büros aus blickt man auf den Rhein (Süden), den Garten (Norden) oder das Atrium (innen). Die Dachflächen sind als Reminiszenz an die umliegenden Streuobstwiesen mit Bäumen bepflanzt. Die Atrien bilden gemeinsam mit den verbindenden Brücken eine lebendige Innenstadtatmosphäre mit Plätzen, Gassen, Promenaden, Treffpunkten und Ruhezonen.
 
Passend zur Birkenstock-Philosophie werden nur naturnahe Materialien verwendet, die nicht durch Beschichtungen „verfälscht“ sind: Glas, Sichtbeton, blanker Dtahl und Holz.

DATUM

2015ORTLinz am Rhein, DeutschlandAUFTRAGGEBERBirkenstock GmbH & CO.KGPROJEKTDATENBürogebäude - 2 Zeilen Kombibüro und einem dazwischenliegenden AtriumRENDERINGTomaselli Visual SensationsMODELLLAFOTOSLA