The dormitory Base 11 opposite the gasometers is part of the master plan “Mehrwert Simmering”. This urban development model results in the trapezoidal ground plan, which is based on the subway station and the dominant gasometers. 306 apartments in a rough, factory-like building, minimalist rooms and spacious common areas were built on a tight budget. The reduced equipment is compensated with exciting spatial sequences and staged light guides. Narrow corridors open up to communicative places, low corridors open to the 21-meter high glazed foyer. Daylight in all corridors and views of the city ensure a safe orientation.
The foyer connects all floors and brings light and space into the building. On three sides, corridors with galvanized perforated metal parapets open up the rooms. Colourful doors and rough concrete walls create a rhythmic graphic structure – simple design tools with great impact that allow a high degree of individuality and identification with the home.
Due to the robust, easy-care equipment, the maintenance and operating costs can be kept low. The straightforward concept of the building – development, floor plan, supporting structure, TGA planning – creates a great functional rigor. Open-air loggias, the leafy courtyard, the rooftop terrace, lounge, studios and party rooms provide students from all over the world with a creative, communicative environment.
CLIENT KALLCO Development Gmbh
LOCATION Vienna, Austria
CONSTRUCTION TIME 2004-2013
PROJECT DATA 306 furnished apartments
PHOTOS Kurt Kuball, Adrien Fouéré

Das Studentenheim Base 11 gegenüber den Gasometern ist Teil des Masterplans „Mehrwert Simmering“. Aus diesem städtebaulichen Leitbild resultiert der trapezförmige Grundriss, der sich an der U-Bahnstation und den dominanten Gasometern orientiert. 306 Appartements in einem rauen, fabrikartigen Gebäude, minimalistische Zimmer und großzügige Gemeinschaftsräume wurden mit einem knappen Budget realisiert. Die reduzierte Ausstattung wird kompensiert mit spannenden Raumfolgen und inszenierten Lichtführungen. Schmale Gänge weiten sich zu kommunikativen Plätzen, niedrige Gänge öffnen sich zum 21 Meter hoch verglasten Foyer. Tageslicht in allen Gängen und Ausblicke auf die Stadt sorgen für eine sichere Orientierung.
Das Foyer verbindet alle Geschosse und bringt Licht und Weite in das Gebäude. Auf drei Seiten erschließen Gänge mit Brüstungen aus verzinktem Lochblech die Zimmer. Bunte Türen und raue Betonwände erzeugen eine rhythmische und grafische Struktur – einfache Gestaltungsmittel mit großer Wirkung, die eine hohe Individualität und Identifikation mit dem Heim ermöglichen.
Durch die robuste, pflegeleichte Ausstattung können die Erhaltungs- und Betriebskosten niedrig gehalten werden. Das geradlinige Konzept des Gebäudes – Erschließung, Grundriss, Tragwerk, TGA-Planung – erzeugt eine große funktionale Stringenz. Freiluft-Loggien, der begrünte Hof, die Dachterrasse, Lounge, Ateliers und Partyräume bieten den Studenten aus aller Welt ein kreatives und kommunikatives Umfeld.
AUFTRAGGEBER KALLCO Development Gmbh
STANDORT Wien, Österreich
BAUZEIT 2004-2013
PROJEKTDATEN 306 möblierte Wohnungen
FOTOS Kurt Kuball, Adrien Fouéré