“The most beautiful workplaces we know” – this is how employees describe the new Asfinag office building in Innsbruck and enjoy the view of the mountains, the Inn and the Hofgarten. The design of the transparent facade is characterized by the unique location and brings these strong images of nature into the work spaces. Lorenzateliers won the competition with a technologically futuristic concept: open glass façade with “intelligent” sun protection, exemplary energy concept and individualized, flexibly usable workplaces.
The Asfinag headquarters is a fully glazed cube with prefabricated lamellar façade for sun and privacy. This slightly reflective outer skin of stainless steel mesh surrounds the building like a shimmering armor and combines it into a compact unit. Only the lighting at night makes the underlying office structure visible. The liveliness of the individually operable slats makes the façade visibly responsive to the different needs of people.
Characteristic of the building is its interaction with the environment. For example, the construction lanes refer both to the historical stock and to the roadway Rennweg. The striking corner of the building stages the entrance area and accentuates the junction Rennweg – Karl-Kapferer-Straße.
Innovative eco-technology results in low energy consumption of max. 18kw / year / sqm. The entire building is powered solely by geothermal energy. Due to the thermal component activation, the rooms can be cooled with minimal energy consumption in summer and heated in winter. Compared to fossil fuels, this represents a saving of 11.16 tons per year.
The new construction of the Asfinag office building was awarded the 2013 “Best Architects 13” prize in the category office and administration buildings.
CLIENT Asfinag Alpenstrassen GmbH
LOCATION Innsbruck, Austria
COMPETITION 2009
CONSTRUCTION TIME 2009-2011
PROJECT DATA office building, effective area: 2.300qm
PHOTOS Günther Wett, Christian Flatscher
 

SIMILAR PROJECTS

„Die schönsten Arbeitsplätze, die wir kennen“ – so beschreiben die Mitarbeiter das neue Asfinag Bürogebäude in Innsbruck und genießen den Ausblick auf die Berge, den Inn und den Hofgarten. Das Design der transparenten Fassade ist von der einzigartigen Lage geprägt und holt diese starken Naturbilder in die Arbeitsräume herein. Lorenzateliers gewann den Wettbewerb mit einem technologisch futuristischen Konzept: offene Glasfassade mit „intelligentem“ Sonnenschutz, vorbildliches Energiekonzept und individualisierte, flexibel nutzbare Arbeitsplätze.
Die Asfinag Zentrale ist ein komplett verglaster Kubus mit vorgesetzter Lamellenfassade als Sonnen- und Sichtschutz. Diese leicht reflektierende Außenhaut aus nicht rostendem Metallgewebe umschließt das Gebäude wie eine schimmernde Rüstung und fasst es zu einer kompakten Einheit zusammen. Erst die Beleuchtung in der Nacht macht die dahinterliegende Bürostruktur sichtbar. Durch die Lebendigkeit der individuell bedienbaren Lamellen reagiert die Fassade sichtbar auf die unterschiedlichen Bedürfnisse der Menschen.
Charakteristisch für das Gebäude ist seine Interaktion mit der Umgebung. So beziehen sich die Baufluchten sowohl auf den historischen Bestand, als auch auf den Straßenraum und den Rennweg. Die markante Gebäudeecke inszeniert den Eingangsbereich und akzentuiert die Kreuzung Rennweg – Karl-Kapferer-Straße.
Innovative Öko-Technik bewirkt einen geringen Energieverbrauch von max. 18kw/Jahr/m². Das gesamte Gebäude wird ausschließlich über Geothermie betrieben. Durch die thermische Bauteilaktivierung können die Räume mit minimalem Energieaufwand im Sommer gekühlt und im Winter geheizt werden. Im Vergleich zu fossilen Energien entspricht dies einer Einsparung von 11,16 Tonnen pro Jahr.
Der Neubau des Asfinag Bürogebäudes wurde 2013 mit dem Preis „Best Architects 13“ in der Kategorie Büro- & Verwaltungsbauten ausgezeichnet.
AUFTRAGGEBER Asfinag Alpenstrassen GmbH
STANDORT Innsbruck, Österreich
BAUZEIT 2009-2011
PROJEKTDATEN Nutzfläche: 2.300m2
FOTOS Günther Wett, Christian Flatscher
 

ÄHNLICHE PROJEKTE